sign up to our newsletter

follow us

    Previous attractions
    Next tour
back to tours

Short Head Tour

£54 per person
Overview
Itinerary
Available dates

This popular half-day morning tour is ideal for people with other afternoon plans or those just wanting a glimpse into the world of racing. You will spend the morning visiting the gallops, a trainer's yard and then onto the National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art or The National Stud (see set dates). Your time spent in the trainer's yard gives you an opportunity to see your favourite stars and meet the team behind scenes. Due to racing commitments we can't guarantee you will meet the trainer but if not, there will always be a member of senior staff on hand to give you the inside track!  

PLEASE NOTE: Finalised itineraries will be sent to all tour guests seven days prior to the tour date. The arranged meeting point and timings can vary. Elements of the tour can also change, if you are unsure please contact the office to reconfirm your tour start time and arrival location.

08.50 - Meet your Discover Newmarket tour guide (meeting point will be advised in your itinerary).

09.05 - 10.00 - Time to enjoy and experience Newmarket’s world famous training grounds where you will see the day’s second ‘lots’ being ridden out on Warren Hill. This will be followed by a tour through the town.

10.15 - 11.15 - A behind-the-scenes view of a working racing yard. Your trainer or their representative will show you around, introduce you to the horses, outline the yard routines, feeding regimes, and answer any questions you might have. Please note your trainer will be confirmed nearer the time.

11.30 - 13.00 - Depending on which date you pick you will either visit the National Stud or the National Heritage Centre for Horse Racing & Sporting Art. The 500-acre National Stud is home to some of the leading stallions of the racing world and the only stud to open its doors to the general public. During your visit you will get a full insight into the working of a thoroughbred farm and see what is involved before and after the horses' time with a trainer. You will meet stallions, mares and foals along the way. The newly opened National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art is situated in Charles II’s sporting palace and stables and spans five acres in the heart of Newmarket. It comprises of three complementary attractions; a new National Horseracing Museum, a National Art Gallery of British Sporting Art, and a chance to meet former racehorses and learn what they do after racing, in the flagship home of Retraining of Racehorses.

Tour Ends.

Please be advised that tours depart promptly at the scheduled start time so we recommend arriving at the meeting point a minimum of 15 minutes in advance. 

2017 Dates

  • Saturday 25th February - National Heritage Centre
  • Saturday 18th March with Marco Botti (National Heritage Centre)
  • Saturday 25th March - National Heritage Centre
  • Saturday 8th April - National Stud
  • Saturday 15th April - National Stud
  • Saturday 22nd April - National Heritage Centre
  • Saturday 6th May - National Stud
  • Friday 26th May with William Haggas (National Stud)
  • Saturday 17th June - National Stud
  • Saturday 24th June - National Stud
  • Saturday 8th July with Sir Michael Stoute (National Stud)
  • Saturday 15th July - National Stud
  • Saturday 12th August - National Stud
  • Saturday 26th August - National Heritage Centre
  • Saturday 9th September - National Stud
  • Saturday 30th September - National Heritage Centre
  • Saturday 14th October - National Heritage Centre
  • Saturday 28th October - National Heritage Centre
  • Saturday 11th November - National Heritage Centre

 

calendar highlights

Wed 28 Jun

The National Stud Tour

Starting at: 11:15AM

Thu 29 Jun

The National Stud Tour

Starting at: 11:15AM

Fri 30 Jun

The National Stud Tour

Starting at: 11:15AM

DiscoverNKT

@DiscoverNKT

1 day ago

Experience the @NatStudStallion for yourself... https://t.co/Qx8urZjUit https://t.co/ewBjIAu1R8

DiscoverNKT

@DiscoverNKT

2 days ago

Our next Country Mile Tour is just under two weeks away and visits Sir Michael Stoute's yard! Secure your spot:… https://t.co/JVMQ8T22mq